When Your Soul is Hungry…

 

Today was the first session of the General Conference of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. This particular meeting occurs the first weekend of April, and the first weekend of October every year.

With this being the 186th Annual General Conference, it’s easy to think, “There can’t possibly be anything new that they’re going to say” or “This isn’t worth my time. I’ve got stuff to do.”

I’ve definitely experienced both feelings towards conference, and that attitude didn’t really start to change until I was about 17. While I served as a missionary, my love and appreciation for General Conference grew because it was something that connected the life I’d left behind for 18 months to where I was as a missionary, and that provided many opportunities for reflection and self evaluation.

Unsurprisingly, that same opportunity happens to me now as a returned missionary, and married woman.  I get to reflect back to the 17 year old girl, that full time missionary, and who I am now.

Before I returned home, all the returning missionaries and our mission president and his amazing wife sat around, and talked about “Life after the Mission”. We discussed the topics of dating and marriage, schooling, work, etc. and how to balance all of that, with the principles we’d learned and lived on our mission.

I’ve been home for a little over a year now.  I’m married, working a full time job, and life is as busy for me as it is for anyone else. Mission life versus life now… soooo different from what I envisioned in my head, and hoped it would be especially after that conversation with my mission president and fellow returning missionaries.  I’ve come to the realization that this difference is not as it ought to be for me. It’s not necessarily awful, or bad, but there are many things about mission life that should definitely transpose into “RM Life” and unfortunately for me, I’ve been let some of those things fall to far too the way side.

If you’re wanting to improve your own spiritual hunger, ask yourself:

  • How did those talks I just listened to make me feel?
    • Were you absorbing, just listening, or completely ignoring what was being said?
  • Am I doing the little things consistently?
    • Are scripture and prayer apart of your daily routine? Are you studying the words of living Prophets and Apostles regularly?
  • Am I progressing?
    • Do you feel like you’re moving forward? If no, why not?

Simple questions, with simple answers but require some complex action on our parts.

I am hungry for more of the Sprit of God in my personal life, and I’m so thankful for General Conference, and the spiritual wake up call it is to me every six months.  I know i’d be lost without it because I need these reminders.  Yes, these same “wake ups” and reminders can happen each week at church, but it’s also (at least for me) easier to ignore those and not take them as seriously as when they don’t come from General Authorities. Because of General Conference, and the amazing Christ centered messages I feel motivated and uplifted, inspired and strengthened to make the changes I need to make so I can answer “Yes!” to those questions.

fulfilledLong story short, if your soul is hungering and thirsting, and feeling more shallow than usual, allow this weekend of inspired messages from the Lords appointed to help you fill you cup, find balance, and move forward faithfully. I know these men and women are inspired of God. I know their soul purpose in speaking is not to offend, or degrade, or guilt anyone.  They simply are acting as the Lords mouthpiece to help each of us grow closer to Him, and His Beloved Son, Jesus Christ. In the name of Jesus Christ, amen.

 

 

 

 

Share your thoughts...

