“I Am Not Dead Yet!”

Another New Year…. Where did the old one go? Where have the last 16 months gone? How did I get old enough to say, “14 years ago…” and actually remember what I’m talking about? Time…. what a doozey!!  In thinking about time and the upcoming year, and reflecting on the experiences I have had this past year, it brought to mind 2 of my favorite songs, and a blurb of testimony.  Here it goes:

As hilarious as the classic movie, “Monty Python and the Holy Grail” is, it was taken a step further with the creation of a musical called, “Spamalot”. One of my favorite songs from that play is “I’m Not Dead Yet”. Today during my personal studies I was thinking about the funny “Missionary-Isms” we come up with.  When you come on your mission, your first area is where you are “Born”, when you train you become a “Mom” or “Dad”, your trainers lineage are your grandparents, your last area is where you “die”, etc.. Slow at first, but eventually faster than you can realize, the time of your mission passes away, and although I may be “terminal” (because I “die” in a few weeks) I am proud to say: “I AM NOT DEAD YET!”

Another song that has been “speaking to me” a lot lately is written by the Nashville Tribute Band called, “Today is the Day” which is a song about not wasting any time and making the most of your day by sharing your testimony and declaring the glad truths that you know with everyone. Sometimes, I’m not going to lie: I don’t always feel brave enough to talk to everyone I see, but each time I hear this song, I get a strong reminder from the Spirit that “I am not dead yet…” but I’m almost there, and therefore need to be making the most of each day I have left and that includes getting over my pride and fear, and talking to everyone I can, to give them the opportunity to hear this great message! It is so great to be a missionary! Everyone should serve… Just sayin’!

This coming year, I’ll spend most of it as a “Member Missionary”, not so much as a “Full Time Missionary” which has brought about some of my New Years resolutions, and a question or two for y’all to ponder:

10628408_277794565739584_5426939723011606092_n

What are your goals in regard to spreading the gospel this year? 

What are somethings you and your family can do together to help the Lord hasten the work of salvation?

What have you learned this past year that really strengthened your testimony and desire to share the gospel?

I’m not going to bore you with my goals, or drown you in another long analogy of what motivates or helps me understand the gospel. But I will say I am indeed grateful that I am “not yet dead” and that each day, whether I’m in the field our out of the field I can make the most of everyday by sharing my testimony and “shout from the roof tops” that I do in fact know, and believe in Jesus Christ.  He is the ultimate, most precious and wonderful Gift any of us have ever or will ever receive, and I am so thankful He and God appeared to Joseph Smith to restore the precious ordinances and truths of His gospel to the earth, so we could all know the way to return to Them one day.  I know Thomas S. Monson is a prophet of God, and that the other leaders of the church throughout the world are called and inspired of God.  I know God is in the details of the details of the details! of our lives, and that He loves us all so very much.  Never forget that… May the New Year treat you well, and may 2015 be the best year ever as you strive to make each day the the best day ever!

In the name of Jesus Christ, amen.

Share your thoughts...

