The New Epidemic: Scriptural Dystrophy

I’ve reached the conclusion that people today really don’t get how important consistent scripture study is. Today in my studies, I was reading in Preach My Gospel  about this very topic, and in the “Scripture Study” I was led through a really fun “Aha!!” Moment, or two or ten! Here is what I learned:

In 2 Timothy 3:14 we are taught that we need to, “…continue thou in the things which thou has learned and hast been assured of…” which to me said, “No matter where you are in your current religious practices, or even the lack thereof, your current level of faith or belief in God, just start with what you do know, and be ready to move forward from there.”
In the Book of Mormon, 2nd Nephi 29:3 it says:
“3 And because my words shall hiss forth–many of the Gentiles shall say: A Bible! A Bible! We have got a Bible, and there cannot be any more Bible.
Continuing in verses 6-9 it say:
“6… A Bible, we have got a Bible, and we need no more Bible. Have ye obtained a Bible save it were by the Jews?
7 Know ye not that there are more nations than one? Know ye not that I, the Lord your God, have created all men, and that I remember those who are upon the isles of the sea; and that I rule in the heavens above and in the earth beneath; and I bring forth my word unto the children of men, yea, even upon all the nations of the earth?
8 Wherefore murmur ye, because that ye shall receive more of my word? Know ye not that the testimony of two nations is a witness unto you that I am God, that I remember one nation like unto another? Wherefore, I speak the same words unto one nation like unto another. And when the two nations shall run together the testimony of the two nations shall run together also.
9 And I do this that I may prove unto many that I am the same yesterday, today, and forever; and that I speak forth my words according to mine own pleasure. And because that I have spoken one word ye need not suppose that I cannot speak another; for my work is not yet finished; neither shall it be until the end of man, neither from that time henceforth and forever.
What I learned today and wanted to share with each of you is that we need to stop limiting ourselves. We came to this earth to gain knowledge and understanding, experience and wisdom. We can’t do that if we are too busy nay-saying and defaming others beliefs. We won’t be able to stand before the Lord and say “I gave it my best” when in reality, we didn’t even exert a tenth of our energy in trying to better understand each other’s values and beliefs, and therefore the Word of God.
Scriptures are powerful. I think fear of the unknown is intimidating way to many people and they are convincing themselves that they “have enough” or “it can’t possibly be true”. With the acquisition of knowledge comes power, and with power comes great responsibility (my favorite quote from Spider-Man). In a society that is quite phobic of responsibility and accountability, it makes logical sense that there is an epidemic of “Scriptural Dystrophy”. Our spiritual muscles are atrophying. Our connection to our God is weakening, and look at what’s happening to the world because of it? Can we afford not to read the scriptures? No. Can we afford not to pray? No. Can we afford to skip church? No.
My dear brothers and sisters, it is so important to pick our battles, but we can’t lose this one.  The consequences are far too significant! We can’t be afraid of the the blessings (or the trials) that come from righteous living. It’s all a part of Heavenly Fathers game plan, remember? We came here to learn, to prove to God we would follow Him always. Let’s keep studying the game plan (aka the Scriptures) and talking to the coach (our dear Heavenly Father, via prayer) to help us through these tricky plays of life. It is possible to study the scriptures every day. It is possible to make it to church on Sunday. It is possible to remember to pray each day. I know these small and simple righteous actions make an eternally significant impact. Take the advice of the prophet Alma 32: 26-30 and let the seed of faith and testimony in God that you do have continue to grow. Nourish it with the proper care, and let God work miracles in your life every day.
I testify God lives. He loves each of us. The scriptures are here to reinforce that truth. Don’t lose such an important battle to the adversary. In the name of Jesus Christ, amen.
Share your thoughts...

