The Home Stretch

finishlinestartline

You know when you’re running, and the end is so close, but you’re so tired you just aren’t quite sure how you’re going to finish strong? So it can be with missionary work. But! I’m here to tell you that no matter the outcome of the first 3, 6, or 9 months, or even the first year, you can still have a great finish!

How is that possible? Because of Him! Last week, I had the opportunity to attend Zone Conference (which for those who don’t know, is a meeting where missionaries gather together to hear instruction and training from our mission president, his wife, senior couple missionaries and the assistants) and it was a hugely inspirational day! Throughout my time here, as a mission we have put a certain emphasis on different things (i.e. The Book of Mormon, Teaching Skills, Family History, etc.) to help us be more effective and more converted to the message we are sharing, and now due to that preparation “line upon line” as Isaiah teaches us, we are now focusing solely on Jesus Christ. He’s always been apart of it, because what is the point of the Book of Mormon, Family History, and teaching the Restored Gospel? To com unto Christ. He’s been apart of this whole adventure!
And this is the point of all I’m saying today: a few nights ago as I was talking to my companion (the night before my year mark) she asked me a lot of really inspired questions that led me to realize that I had forgotten a very crucial fact-

Christ, just like God, is in every single detail.

At one point in my mission, I’d hit an interesting wall with my faith in Christ, and it took all this time to figure out what exactly my block was. I’d forgotten how much apart of my life Christ really is. As Zone Conference went on, I could see more and more why, and how Christ always needs to be the center of our everything. It’s not just because of what He did for us. It’s not just because He is the Son of God. It’s because in order to have true happiness, we need to be like Him. He needs to be our walk, and our talk. Whenever we are unhappy, or depressed, or disappointed, we ought to take the time to evaluate “Where is my faith at right now? Is it in Christ, or someone or something else?” I can testify to you, that as we take time to ask ourselves those questions, and then do our part so we can confidently say, “My faith is in Christ, always!” That we will conquer all! Our spirit and power as disciples of Christ will always burn brightly, and we will be able to accomplish His purposes.

In Alma 5:14-16 it says:

14 And now behold, I ask of you, my brethren of the church, have ye spiritually been born of God? Have ye received his image in your countenances? Have ye experienced this mighty change in your hearts?

15 Do ye exercise faith in the redemption of him who created you? Do you look forward with an eye of faith, and view this mortal body raised in immortality, and this corruption raised in incorruption, to stand before God to be judged according to the deeds which have been done in the mortal body?

16 I say unto you, can you imagine to yourselves that ye hear the voice of the Lord, saying unto you, in that day: Come unto me ye blessed, for behold, your works have been the works of righteousness upon the face of the earth?

Those questions make me think to myself:
How am I showing that I have faith in Christ?
What more can I do to show my faith?
Why do I follow Him?
Do I believe Him?

I have a lot of work to do, but I’ve been given the enormous blessing of having the next six months to become that disciple, missionary, and daughter of God I’ve always wanted to be, and who I came to be. I am so exceedingly grateful for my mission! Yes, it’s been hard but it has been so worth it! I find joy in this work, and I know who my true source of strength is. I know Jesus Christ lives. I know He is real. I know that the Prophets He has called and lead are good, and inspired men and I sustain them, past, present, and future. I know this church that I belong to and represent is His church and therefore I represent Him. I am so incredibly blessed, and hope each
of you can always “retain in remembrance” (Mosiah 4:11) your Savior.

I leave this testimony with you in the name of Jesus Christ, amen.

Share your thoughts...