Peace…

peacelily-wideEven though missionaries are pretty well cut off from the world, it’s not too terribly long before really big news makes it around to us. Hearing about the death of a beloved Actor, hearing about all of the craziness in the middle east, and listening to sirens whirr here there and everywhere all around us (or so it seems) while we got about our day to day can cause the question to come, “Where can I turn for peace?”
That happens to be my all time favorite LDS Hymn. It is so well written. It appeals to me, A- because it sounds beautiful, and B- because the lyrics really touch my heart. My favorite verse is verse 2:

“Where, when my aching grows,
Where, when I languish,
Where, in my need to know, where can I run?
Where is the quiet hand to calm my anguish?
Who, who can understand?
He, only One.”

greatestpeepsIn the thick of a trial, as I’ve said many times before, it can be so hard to remember that there is hope. There is peace to be enjoyed, and found. We simply must rely on the Savior more fully. We need to turn to appropriate resources such as prayer, scripture study, church attendance, and wholesome recreation. We need to do our part to find “peace”.

Peace is a beautiful thing. How doesn’t enjoy those moments when you feel perfect contentment and balance; Clear, and pure assurance of what the Lord needs you to do? My question for you to ponder is: Where do you turn for peace? I testify, as a representative and disciple of Jesus Christ that He, our Savior and Redeemer is the only way to find the peace, happiness, and comfort we all seek as we go throughout this life. He is the Prince of Peace, and He wants you to have all that He has. Please be wise (Jacob 6:12) and allow the Master of all to lead you safely through your mile. May God bless you with a peaceful day!
In the name of Jesus Christ, amen.

Share your thoughts...

