One of My Most Precious Posessions

photo 3I completely understand that we can’t take anything with us when we die besides our memories, experiences, knowledge, and testimony.  However, while I still reside on this planet, I fully intend to continue to enjoy and appreciate the things God has blessed me with to make this “miracle mile” interesting.  One of those things is my personal copy of The Book of Mormon.

When I was 8 years old, like most Mormon kids, I was baptized and received my personal copy of The Holy Bible, Book of Mormon, Doctrine and Covenants, and Pearl of Great Price.  I was excited! I love books, and reading, and I recognized even at that young age these things were important.  photo 1Another element that has forever made these books especially sacred  to me is my mothers written testimony of the truth of the words and stories contained on the pages.  I read it often and it always helps me feel the Spirit of truth and revelation, and a closeness to my mother that I think everyone needs to experience.

I didnt’ really begin to study my scriptures very well until I was older.  I remember one priamy activity inculded a hand out with specific scriptures we should highlight, and we all got to choose a highlighter crayon to take home so we could mark our scriptures and man…. They look terrible! But, every time I find those verses I just smile and feel grateful my coordination and dexterity has improved at least a little over the past 13 years or so and that my understanding of the signifigance of those scriptures has improved as well 🙂

I can’t pinpoint the exact moment I gained a testimony of the scriptures for myself, but I do know it never really occurred to me to question them too much.  Maybe like my amazing “Mission Mom” I was born with a testimony.  I don’t know, but I do know even when i was young and tried to meet the challenges issued by stake presidents, prophets, and bishops and my own family to read the Book of Mormon and other scriptures, I always felt good reading them.  If I didn’t, I doubt I ever would have given it much notice when I was older.

photo 2 (1)Seminary is where I truly learned to study the scriptures and “liken them” to myself.  It is such an amazing program, and I just think it’s really cool that people want to, and get to, take an hour out of their school day (or, for “hardcore” seminary students you attend early morning seminary) to study the scriptures.  It’s just amazing and I think everyone, no matter what faith ought to have an hour of “Release Time” to study the word of God.

My freshman year of college is a memorable time in many ways, but one thing that will always stick out to me is morning scripture study with two of my roommates.  It really strengthened our friendhips, and testimonies all at the same time!  If friends everywhere would spend time together in the scriptures…. I can testify it will do so much good on so many levels!  It strenghtens your resolve individually and collectively to be righteous and helps you feel confident in speaking up if you see someone in the group faltering a bit, or gives you sensitivity when you don’t see anything, but feel something is off.  The scriptures have power beyond our comprehension!

Long story short, the Book of Mormon and the other standard works of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints are some of the most precious material posessions we can ever posess to enrich our “mile” and give us the strength to finish!  I know the Book of Mormon, Holy Bible, Doctrine and Covenants, and Pearl of Great Price are all inspired of God, and meant to help and bless us.  They are written to strengthen us, and to help us come to know our Lord and Savior better than we could without them.  If you haven’t started studying them, I would encourage you to REPENT, and get started.  It is SO worth it!

In the name of Jeus Christ, amen.

 

3 Comments

Share your thoughts...

