“Welcome to the Jungle”

Welcome to the best 2 years or 18 months of your life thus far :)

When I received my mission call to Florida, I didn’t know much about the geography or the landscape, or  anything about this state, except that there were ‘gators (whether fan or actual animal is still to be determined…), bugs…. lots of them, and Disney World.  I also knew and was very aware of the fact that it is located in the glorious region of the earth called “The Bible Belt”.

How many of us have found ourselves in situations we thought was one thing, but quickly found out it was completely different than we expected? I am so guilty of that… Making assumptions of things before I get all the facts, and jumping in over my head.  But something I’ve also learned is that God knows what we’re going to do.  He knows how we’re going to do it, and He knows how to help us through the “jungle” of life.  My dad is a hard core AC/DC fan and the lyrics to the song say something like “Welcome to the Jungle, it gets worse here everyday!” (or at least that’s what it’s always sounded like to me; haven’t heard it in a while!) To an extent, that’s totally a true statement.  Florida is quite a jungle, physically, geographically, and definitely spiritually.  However, missions are not meant to be a walk in the park.  They are meant to be a refiners fire of trial and faith building experiences.  God doesn’t promise any of us, no matter what phase of life we’re in that it’s going to be easy.  He just assures us, over and over again that it’ll be worth it in the end.  I’m still at the beginning of my “mission mile” but I can testify that it is all worth it.  All the stress, heartache, exhaustion, mistakes, laughter, success, knowledge, experience, etc. is all worth it.  It truly is the best preparation anyone could ever have to help them get through the rest of their earthly, and eternal experience.  I know our Father in Heaven loves us, and that there is a way out of our “jungles”, whatever they may be.  Elder Andersen

A fellow missionary said once, “A trial is like a compliment from God.”  I am a firm believer that if He brings you to it, He’ll bring you through it if you but ask Him to help you.  He has prepared the way, by sending His Only Begotten Son to clear a path through the “jungle” for us.  I know if we can always hold that truth in our minds and hearts, we will make it through! Hold fast to the iron rod, and know that Jesus Christ and Heavenly Father love you.  God bless, and don’t stress!

Love, Sister Yates

 

Share your thoughts...

