Trust God, and endure…

"To the ocean, white with foam..."

Think about your life, and your “mile” thus far… What has gotten you through it? Do you consider it to be luck or chance when things go well? Maybe you call it fate.  Perhaps it’s just your sheer will power that pushes you through to the finish line, wherever (or whenever) you reach it.  And better yet, what do you want to have accomplished when you do cross the proverbial finish line?

For myself, I have come to know that all the good in my life is from God.  I think we all know that to some extent.  I hope to accomplish my “miracle mile” and be able to report to the Savior that I did my best, and that I really tried for my best “time.”  What we seem to fail to remember as we run this race of life, is that Christ runs right a long with us.  One of my most favorite poems about the savior is called “Footprints in the Sand” that tells the story of a mans dream.  He was walking with the Savior, and he notices that during the hardest struggles of his life, there’s only one set of footprints in the sand, and he asks the Savior why he left him when he needed him most and the Savior replies “When there’s only one set of foot prints, that is when I carried you.”

How quickly we forget the power the Savior has to bear us up while we run our “mile”.  Why do we do this? Does it mean we don’t love Him? I think it’s really just too easy to forget the good and so much easier to dwell on, and get wrapped up in, the bad that is all around us, all the time.  I know I’m guilty of feeling forgotten by God or the Savior, but every time I reevaluate this situation, I learn very quickly that I am the one who moved away. Not Them.

We imperfect humans have no excuse not to be humble, when our journey here on earth is nothing compared to what the Savior endured.  We also have no excuse whatsoever for forgetting to let Christ into our lives.  I am confident when I say, that if you have shut Christ out, you can let Him back in.  I know with every fiber of my being that He loves you.  He wouldn’t have died on the cross if He didn’t.  He wouldn’t have volunteered to be the Savior and Redeemer if He didn’t love each and every one of us.  I also know that repentance is hard, and a long and painful process sometimes, but I do know it’s possible to get through it, and that we all need to access the Atonement.  How else do we show God and Jesus Christ that we love and respect them? We have to show our faith, and trust in Them so they can in turn trust us.

I know we are loved by God and Jesus Christ.  I am confident that everyone can learn this truth for themselves, and the best way to do that is to hit your knees, and talk to your Heavenly Father.  He longs to hear from you, and longs to help you finish your mile, and help you enjoy it along the way.  He also desires to talk back to you, so open your scriptures and learn of Him, and His plan, and His Son.  I know Christ lives, and wants to be apart of our journey here.  Invite Him to run with you so together you can both land in the loving arms of your Father in Heaven.  I love the Lord, and my Savior and the glorious gospel of Jesus Christ.  If we abide by it’s precepts, and are obedient, and repent, our miracle mile will be a beautiful tribute to God and a testimony to all who know us that we love the Lord and desire to endure to the end and that is my goal.  To endure well, and faithfully to the end.

I leave this with you, in the name of Jesus Christ, amen.

Share your thoughts...

